Author Topic: Perl Comment Reflow, Visual SlickEdit 2010??  (Read 4078 times)

craig.martell

• Community Member
  • Hero Points: 1
Perl Comment Reflow, Visual SlickEdit 2010??
« on: May 07, 2011, 04:08:35 pm »
ALL:

I am new to Visual SlickEdit, but so far I really like it.  Particularly, I like the customizability.  I have a work habit that is mostly CUA but partially Emacs.  (This comes, I think, from going back and forth between Windows, Mac and Linux a lot.)  So, I love that I can bind the keys anyway I want.

I am, however, having some trouble with reflowing block comments in Perl.  Can you tell me if I am doing it correctly?

I enter some text:

Here are some lines that I
would like block comments around.
Here is another. And, here
is one more.

When I then do "Alt+C" for the Document menu, and "B" to comment block, I get the following as expected:

###################################
#Here are some lines that I       #
#would like block comments around.#
#Here is another. And, here       #
#is one more.                     #

But when I add text to the block, see the <insert text> and <and insert text>, I get:

#Here are some lines that I       #
#would like block comments around.#
#Here is another. And, here <insert text>      #
#is one more.      
#<and insert text>              #

I then go to Reflow Comment, and no matter what options I try, I don't get any changes.

Am I wrong in what Reflow Comment is supposed to do?  Is this just a Perl issue?  

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,

Craig
« Last Edit: May 07, 2011, 04:21:40 pm by craig.martell »

Graeme

• Senior Community Member
  • Hero Points: 221
Re: Perl Comment Reflow, Visual SlickEdit 2010??
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2011, 12:49:16 am »