Author Topic: Trial user - help and advice needed  (Read 4080 times)

artig

• Junior Community Member
  • Hero Points: 1
Trial user - help and advice needed
« on: July 21, 2011, 11:28:38 PM »
During an upgrade from WinXP to Win7 I find that the program editor I've used for many years will not have full Vista/Win7 support for some time. So currently I'm trialling SE. Unfortunately the 15-day trial period is not long enough to learn all the details of Slick-C, to find out whether I can implement some of the functions I've come to rely on with the old editor.

While I appreciate the backup history option when saving files in SE, I would like to implement the method I've been using now for almost 20 years. There's a fixed backup location, where a complete copy of each saved file is stored. The string _YYYYMMDD#HHMMSS (current date and time) is appended to the original file name, retaining the original extension. Each month I zip the previous month's edits together and place them in an archive.

In the file saveload.e there is a user-replaceable hook function save_file that would presumably be modified to include the new functions?

Some other functions I use all the time are center_line, brief_home, and brief_end, but I've worked out how to allocate these to the 'correct' keys. :-)

Graeme

• Senior Community Member
  • Hero Points: 347
Re: Trial user - help and advice needed
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2011, 01:04:42 PM »
During an upgrade from WinXP to Win7 I find that the program editor I've used for many years will not have full Vista/Win7 support for some time. So currently I'm trialling SE. Unfortunately the 15-day trial period is not long enough to learn all the details of Slick-C, to find out whether I can implement some of the functions I've come to rely on with the old editor.