Author Topic: Remote Subversion Setup  (Read 15656 times)

3JB

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 13
  • Hero Points: 0
Remote Subversion Setup
« on: October 28, 2011, 04:55:03 PM »
I am fairly new to using subversion, and recently got it setup on a remote Apache server.  This works with a few commercial subversion GUI applications (e.g. SmartSVN, SyncroSVN, etc.) using the http protocol.

I am unsure how to set this up in SE.  SE wants a path to the subversion executable svn.exe, which is only on the remote machine.  Do I need to install subversion locally and somehow map it to the remote repositories?

I have looked on this forum for help and have also looked in the documentation, but haven't found much.

Thanks for your help.

System Setup:
SlickEdit 2011 (v16.0.3.0 64-bit)
Windows 7 64-bit
Remote Apache server running subversion v1.6.17

Dan

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2896
  • Hero Points: 153
Re: Remote Subversion Setup
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2011, 04:57:29 PM »
You need to download and install one of the command line clients (cmd.exe) that are available.  There is one included with cygwin, and others are available.

Once you have this setup, the source you have checked out will work with our integration.

3JB

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 13
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: Remote Subversion Setup
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2011, 05:53:00 PM »
OK, not sure what to do next.  Downloaded Cygwin from here:
http://cygwin.com/install.html

It installed, but I'm not sure what it installed or where.

I tried to point the "Subversion executable" to "C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe", not sure if that is what you meant.  Using this, SE crashes when trying to do anything subversion related.

Please let me know what you meant.

Thanks.

Dan

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2896
  • Hero Points: 153
Re: Remote Subversion Setup
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2011, 05:54:27 PM »
It should not be set to cmd.exe, it should be set to the svn.exe that you installed locally.  Do you know where cygwin is installed?

Phil Barila

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 745
  • Hero Points: 61
Re: Remote Subversion Setup
« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2011, 07:05:14 PM »
It should not be set to cmd.exe, it should be set to the svn.exe that you installed locally.  Do you know where cygwin is installed?
@Dan, you told him to.
You need to download and install one of the command line clients (cmd.exe) that are available.
::)

I'm sure it was inadvertent.   :D

@3JB, skip cygwin, it almost works, most of the time.  Unless you explicitly selected the option that installs svn in the installer, I don't believe it installed svn for you.  Though I've not looked at the defaults in a very long time, so I don't know that for sure.
Try this instead:  http://subversion.apache.org/



Dan

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2896
  • Hero Points: 153
Re: Remote Subversion Setup
« Reply #5 on: October 28, 2011, 07:08:12 PM »
 :-[ Wow, I sure did. :-[ 

I can't imagine how I managed that, I'm so much more prone to type "svn" on a command line than "cmd".

3JB

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 13
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: Remote Subversion Setup
« Reply #6 on: October 28, 2011, 07:28:01 PM »
Thanks Phil, I was really confused with the cmd.exe thing.

Did you intend to point me to something specific on the apache site?  I have subversion up and going from an apache server, but don't know how to tell SE how to find it.  My SVN repository is something like http://x.x.x.x/svn/repository, which the GUI SVN apps can use just fine.  SE wants a direct path to svn.exe, though.

Phil Barila

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 745
  • Hero Points: 61
Re: Remote Subversion Setup
« Reply #7 on: October 28, 2011, 08:08:59 PM »
I intended to suggest that you uninstall cygwin, then download and install a Windows subversion client from the apache site.  Point SE at the svn.exe installed in that step.  Sorry if I wasn't explicit enough.
« Last Edit: October 28, 2011, 08:12:25 PM by Phil Barila »

3JB

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 13
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: Remote Subversion Setup
« Reply #8 on: October 28, 2011, 08:25:40 PM »
OK, that's what I had setup prior to my first post here.  I had SE pointed to something like "C:\...\svn.exe", installed from the following URL:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/win32svn/files/1.6.17/Setup-Subversion-1.6.17.msi/download

I am getting errors like "C:\...\svn.exe status returned 1" with the following output from SE:
svn: OPTIONS of 'http://x.x.x.x/svn/source': Could not resolve hostname `http://x.x.x.x/svn': The requested name is valid, but no data of the requested type was found.

I was getting similar errors before I had Apache set up correctly, so it seems like I am missing some setting somewhere.

Thanks for your help.

Dan

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2896
  • Hero Points: 153
Re: Remote Subversion Setup
« Reply #9 on: October 28, 2011, 08:32:32 PM »
What Subversion operation were you attempting when you got that error?

3JB

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 13
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: Remote Subversion Setup
« Reply #10 on: October 28, 2011, 08:36:55 PM »
The SE options "Compare Directory With Subversion..." and "Update x.x" produce the above error.  Not sure what those translates to as SVN calls.

If I try to do "History For x.x", I get "SVN is currently unable to get information about this file.".

Those are the only commands that I have tried.

Dan

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2896
  • Hero Points: 153
Re: Remote Subversion Setup
« Reply #11 on: October 28, 2011, 08:39:10 PM »
OK.  Can you please launch a console window (cmd.exe;)) and go to the directory that contains the file you tried to get history on and run svn log <filename>?

Please let me know what the output is.

3JB

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 13
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: Remote Subversion Setup
« Reply #12 on: October 28, 2011, 08:49:31 PM »
Ran locally:
H:\>svn log http://x.x.x.x/svn/repository/trunk/x.c
svn: OPTIONS of 'http://x.x.x.x/svn/repository/trunk/x.c': Could not resolve hostname `http://x.x.x.x/svn': The requested name is valid, but no data of the requested type was found.

Ran on the remote machine:
PS C:> svn log http://x.x.x.x/svn/repository/trunk/x.c
------------------------------------------------------------------------
r46 | xxxx | 2011-10-27 16:35:05 -0500 (Thu, 27 Oct 2011) | 1 line

Updated to v0.0.2.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
r35 | xxxx | 2011-10-27 14:44:12 -0500 (Thu, 27 Oct 2011) | 1 line

Add: Common folders.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Am I supposed to have SE pointed to the svn.exe on the remote machine?  The other apps do not need this, just the repository location (e.g. http://x.x.x.x/svn/repository).

Dan

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2896
  • Hero Points: 153
Re: Remote Subversion Setup
« Reply #13 on: October 28, 2011, 08:50:28 PM »
Do you have this source checked out locally?

3JB

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 13
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: Remote Subversion Setup
« Reply #14 on: October 28, 2011, 08:55:59 PM »
Yes.  It was checked out and is working with SmartSVN.  The same files that I am trying to do operations shows history, modifications, etc. in SmartSVN (and SyncroSVN).