Author Topic: troubles with getting GDB to work correctly  (Read 13575 times)

Mike H

• Community Member
  • Hero Points: 3
troubles with getting GDB to work correctly
« on: June 20, 2007, 06:29:04 PM »
I'm still a newbie and need some help getting GDB going.  I'm just using the GNU C wizard with the "Hello World" program.  First off, \cygwin\bin is NOT in my DOS path and I'd like to keep it this way if possible.

At first the program doesn't build, but if a explicitly tell SE where gcc is located (i.e. c:\cygwin\bin\gcc.exe), and add "Set PATH=/bin" in the Advanced portion of Project->Project Properties->Tools tab for Build, the project builds.  So far so good.

Now I want to launch the debugger by clicking Debug->Step Into.  With all default settings, I get "GDB has terminated prematurely".  From looking at other posts, I gather this is because SE can't find cygwin1.dll.  So I do the same thing as in the build command, add "Set PATH=/bin" in the Advanced portion for the Debug tool.  Now when I try "Debug->Step Into"  I get an error message saying vsdebug not found:
vsdebugio -prog "L:\SlickEdit\se_practice\Debug\se_practice.exe"
vsbuild: File not found (vsdebugio)

I think I messed something up in my path.  Can someone help! :P

Note that if I edit my path environment variable by appending c:\cygwin\bin to the end of it and relaunch SE, GDB will invoke just fine, so I'm pretty sure the issue is in defining my path.  It should be easy to set up, I just need some guidance.

thanks in advance,
Mike

ScottW, VP of Dev

• Senior Community Member
  • Hero Points: 64
Re: troubles with getting GDB to work correctly
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2007, 09:23:37 PM »
Just like you told SlickEdit where the compiler is, you need to tell it where the debugger is. Select Debug > Debugger Options and click on the Configuration tab. If there isn't an entry for GDB (which there probably shouldn't be based on your description), click the Add button to add it.