Author Topic: Problem with v18  (Read 6004 times)

DanW

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 28
  • Hero Points: 2
Problem with v18
« on: June 24, 2013, 09:08:51 PM »
Notice the path in the command below.  It has a %rp.   v17 didnt do this.

CallTarget -t "vsbuild"
---------- 'vsbuild' Project: 'images\vxworks\ic_vxworks.vpj' - 'Release' ---------- VSLICKERRORPATH="F:\workspace\sw\product\SF260-HLD\develop\app\ic\images\vxworks\%rp"
vsbuild command can't change workspace, project, config, or target. Use CallTarget


and here the section in the project file:
         <Target
            Name="vsbuild"
            MenuCaption="&amp;vsbuild"
            RunFromDir="%rp"
            ShowOnMenu="Never"
            CaptureOutputWith="ProcessBuffer">
            <Exec CmdLine='"%(VSLICKBIN1)vsbuild" make "%w" "%r" -cppmake'/>
         </Target>
         <Target
            Name="vsrebuild"
            MenuCaption="&amp;vsrebuild"
            ShowOnMenu="Never"
            CaptureOutputWith="ProcessBuffer"
            RunFromDir="%rp">
            <Exec CmdLine='"%(VSLICKBIN1)vsbuild" rebuild "%w" "%r" -cpprebuild'/>
         </Target>

whereas, v17 did this when compiling the vsbuild and rebuild commands: (note it did not add %rp to the end of the path)
VSLICKERRORPATH="f:\workspace\sw\product\SF260-HLD\develop\app\ic\images\vxworks"
cd ..\..\..\..
cd app\common\messaging
make -f Makefile all

Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6864
  • Hero Points: 528
Re: Problem with v18
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2013, 11:24:47 PM »
So far no luck reproducing any problem here but it's probably because I can't figure out what CallTarget -t "vsbuild" means exactly. I need some exact XML syntax if that's what it refers to. Thanks

DanW

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 28
  • Hero Points: 2
Re: Problem with v18
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2013, 09:09:22 PM »
Notice the %rp in the VSLICKERRORPATH= line
my guess is, it didn't expand the %rp variable which caused it to fail running vsbuild.

DanW

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 28
  • Hero Points: 2
Re: Problem with v18
« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2013, 09:14:49 PM »
seems similar to this issue.  Can someone check...
http://community.slickedit.com/index.php/topic,9379.msg39922.html#msg39922

Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6864
  • Hero Points: 528
Re: Problem with v18
« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2013, 10:32:15 PM »
seems similar to this issue.  Can someone check...
http://community.slickedit.com/index.php/topic,9379.msg39922.html#msg39922

I don't think it's related. It only fixes a %oe problem.

If you post a small workspace and project that illustrates this problem, I'll be able to reproduce what you're seeing.

DanW

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 28
  • Hero Points: 2
Re: Problem with v18
« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2013, 06:00:20 PM »
The command that it is failing has
Command line:    "%(VSLICKBIN1)vsbuild rebuild %w %r -cpprebuild"
Run from dir: %rp

and it returns this when run:
vsbuild command can't change workspace, project, config, or target. Use CallTarget

Lee

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1299
  • Hero Points: 130
Re: Problem with v18
« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2013, 06:08:25 PM »
Can you post your .vpj file so we can see all the targets?

DanW

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 28
  • Hero Points: 2
Re: Problem with v18
« Reply #7 on: June 28, 2013, 06:45:44 PM »
here it is

Lee

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1299
  • Hero Points: 130
Re: Problem with v18
« Reply #8 on: June 28, 2013, 08:20:22 PM »
So much for a simple test case.

Try changing vsrebuild target to:
        <Exec CmdLine='"%(VSLICKBIN1)vsbuild" rebuild %w %r -cpprebuild'/>
instead of:
        <Exec CmdLine='"%(VSLICKBIN1)vsbuild rebuild %w %r -cpprebuild"'/>

I think the wrong thing is quoted there, I am not sure it ever worked to be honest.

DanW

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 28
  • Hero Points: 2
Re: Problem with v18
« Reply #9 on: June 28, 2013, 08:24:15 PM »
Now I get error "File not found"
--------- 'vsbuild' Project: 'images\vxworks\ic_vxworks.vpj' - 'Release' ---------- VSLICKERRORPATH="F:\workspace\sw\product\SF280\develop\app\ic\images\vxworks"
"C:\PROGRA~1\SLICKE~4.0X6\win\vsbuild build F:\workspace\sw\product\SF280\develop\app\ic\ic_vxworks.vpw F:\workspace\sw\product\SF280\develop\app\ic\images\vxworks\ic_vxworks.vpj -cpprebuild"
vsbuild: File not found (C:\PROGRA~1\SLICKE~4.0X6\win\vsbuild build F:\workspace\sw\product\SF280\develop\app\ic\ic_vxworks.vpw F:\workspace\sw\product\SF280\develop\app\ic\images\vxworks\ic_vxworks.vpj -cpprebuild)

maybe I should try installing v18 in a c:\slick18 dir

Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6864
  • Hero Points: 528
Re: Problem with v18
« Reply #10 on: June 28, 2013, 08:26:09 PM »
Post the new vpj file. Thanks

DanW

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 28
  • Hero Points: 2
Re: Problem with v18
« Reply #11 on: June 28, 2013, 08:38:09 PM »
tried moving slickedit to c:\SE18 (thinking that the space was causing it)
didn't work.

---------- 'vsbuild' Project: 'images\vxworks\ic_vxworks.vpj' - 'Release' ---------- VSLICKERRORPATH="F:\workspace\sw\product\SF280\develop\app\ic\images\vxworks"
"C:\SE18\win\vsbuild build F:\workspace\sw\product\SF280\develop\app\ic\ic_vxworks.vpw F:\workspace\sw\product\SF280\develop\app\ic\images\vxworks\ic_vxworks.vpj -cpprebuild"
vsbuild: File not found (C:\SE18\win\vsbuild build F:\workspace\sw\product\SF280\develop\app\ic\ic_vxworks.vpw F:\workspace\sw\product\SF280\develop\app\ic\images\vxworks\ic_vxworks.vpj -cpprebuild)

DanW

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 28
  • Hero Points: 2
Re: Problem with v18
« Reply #12 on: June 28, 2013, 08:40:02 PM »
and the workspace & project are where the error shows.

Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6864
  • Hero Points: 528
Re: Problem with v18
« Reply #13 on: June 28, 2013, 08:44:25 PM »
Looks like you did the change backwards and made more incorrect double quoted stuff.

The double quotes need to be around the program name which is "<path>vsbuild".
« Last Edit: June 28, 2013, 09:05:37 PM by Clark »

Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6864
  • Hero Points: 528
Re: Problem with v18
« Reply #14 on: June 29, 2013, 02:13:58 AM »
You need to adjust your .vpj file to make this work. First, fix the double quoting like we noted.

The limitation is that you can't change the target for vsbuild any more. We can't support your exact .vpj file any more. Sounds bad right...not really. Previous to v18 there were A LOT of screwy problems with vsbuild. Most notable commands inside the target were not executed in order. Now they are!!! You are using a workaround for this which is no longer needed.

Here's what you have:

      <Target
        Name="Build"
        MenuCaption="&amp;Build"
        CaptureOutputWith="ProcessBuffer"
        Deletable="0"
        SaveOption="SaveWorkspaceFiles"
        RunFromDir="%rp"
        DependsRef="Release"
        ClearProcessBuffer="1">
        <CallTarget Target="CompileSysAUtils"/>
        <CallTarget Target="CompileSysALib"/>
        <CallTarget Target="vsbuild"/>
        <CallTarget Target="Munch"/>
        <CallTarget Target="CompileMunch"/>
        <CallTarget Target="GenSymbols"/>
        <CallTarget Target="CompileSymTbl"/>
        <CallTarget Target="FinalLink"/>
        <Exec CmdLine="echo"/>
      </Target>


Here's what you will need now:


      <Target
        Name="Build"
        MenuCaption="&amp;Build"
        CaptureOutputWith="ProcessBuffer"
        Deletable="0"
        SaveOption="SaveWorkspaceFiles"
        RunFromDir="%rp"
        DependsRef="Release"
        ClearProcessBuffer="1">
        <CallTarget Target="CompileSysAUtils"/>
        <CallTarget Target="CompileSysALib"/>
        <Exec CmdLine='"%(VSLICKBIN1)vsbuild" build %w %r -cpprebuild'/>
        <CallTarget Target="Munch"/>
        <CallTarget Target="CompileMunch"/>
        <CallTarget Target="GenSymbols"/>
        <CallTarget Target="CompileSymTbl"/>
        <CallTarget Target="FinalLink"/>
      </Target>

Let me know if you have any trouble.

FYI: The v18 vsbuild supports executing multiple Exec lines now but the GUI doesn't support it yet.