Author Topic: Newbie here - how to install license, license types, etc...  (Read 4980 times)

xagent

• Community Member
  • Hero Points: 0
Newbie here - how to install license, license types, etc...
« on: August 09, 2013, 10:08:21 PM »
Hey,
I've used Slickedit for a few years now, but it was provided to me by work. The license was somewhere on a common license server, and was set up when I was originally an intern. This was 6 years ago, and have no memory of when or how it was even done. I ran slickedit via an alias I had linked to some executable on a random workspace in a random file system. I work at a huge Fortune 500 tech corporation.

Anyways, I changed groups (but same company) a few years back and found my Slickedit still worked. Last week I get an e-mail from the common mailer list for the license server, saying it is being decommissioned and whatever management was originally paying for the license has decided not to renew slickedit on the new license server.

My new manager had agreed to pay for slickedit (for me) when I told him about it. I e-mailed the IT person back and they said it would cost $500 to rehost the licenses. But I looked online, and for our development platform running Linux, a single user license is only $299. Currently myself and one other coworker on my new team are only ones using Slickedit.

Is the $500 license the concurrent user license as listed on the website? And how does this work? How many users can use it, and can they use it simultaneously? I e-mailed the IT person, but never heard back.

I was considering getting the individual license, but how do I set this up? Is this not on a license server?

Which license type do you think I should try to convince upper management to pay for?

hs2

• Senior Community Member
  • Hero Points: 292
Re: Newbie here - how to install license, license types, etc...
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2013, 08:06:43 AM »