SlickEdit Community

Archived Read Only Forums => SlickEdit 2015 v20 Beta Discussion => Topic started by: machish on October 05, 2015, 09:22:16 pm

Title: Protect read-only mode is always reset on upgrade
Post by: machish on October 05, 2015, 09:22:16 pm
I always disable 'Protect read-only mode' because I want to start typing, and worry about checking out a file later.
It always seems to be reset when I upgrade to a newer build (major or minor version).
Is there anything special about this setting that doesn't get migrated? Or have my observations been inaccurate?

Thanks,
-martin
Title: Re: Protect read-only mode is always reset on upgrade
Post by: Tim Kemp on October 06, 2015, 12:09:43 pm
I had a number of settings that didn't get migrated at home. Here at work it seemed to work fine. The only real difference that I'm aware of is that my home computer is Windows 10 and at work it's Windows 7.

Also, I didn't notice any of the missing settings until I went from beta 1 to beta 2, so it may be a beta upgrade issue rather than a real one.
Title: Re: Protect read-only mode is always reset on upgrade
Post by: Sandra on October 06, 2015, 12:54:30 pm
I can reproduce the specific issue with "Protect read only mode."  Looking into it now.
Title: Re: Protect read-only mode is always reset on upgrade
Post by: Sandra on October 06, 2015, 01:10:52 pm
The "Protect read only mode" will be fixed for the next beta drop.  Due to the nature of the bug, you won't see the fix until you upgrade to v21.  Thanks for the bug report!