SlickEdit Community

Archived Read Only Forums => SlickEdit 2015 v20 Beta Discussion => Topic started by: rajkej on October 26, 2015, 02:51:36 pm

Title: 20.0.0.7 (RC1?) MAC expands selection beyond what I'm trying to select
Post by: rajkej on October 26, 2015, 02:51:36 pm
I had a selection problem earlier and haven't downloaded RC2 to see if this might be related.

I have def_scursor_style set to 1 and I use keyboard to multi-column select three columns on the first row as seen in the first attachment 'StartOfSelection'. My cursor started at the 'n' on Min and moved left. When I cursor down, the selection is improperly expanded to the right of the first character I selected which was the 'n' (attachement MovedCursorDown). Notice now that the selection is four columns and two rows when I expected it to be only three columns.  This happens whenever I select to the left. If instead I started on the capital 'M' for Min and moved right, the selection is proper. The selection also improperly expands even in the middle of a word so it doesn't seem to be related to the whitespace.

Title: Re: 20.0.0.7 (RC1?) MAC expands selection beyond what I'm trying to select
Post by: rajkej on October 26, 2015, 02:53:01 pm
Here's with a diff color scheme so you can see the selection better...
Title: Re: 20.0.0.7 (RC1?) MAC expands selection beyond what I'm trying to select
Post by: Clark on October 26, 2015, 03:28:11 pm
We will put in a fix for this but it will only handle the sunny day scenario (fixed font in non-Unicode file). Keep in mind that versions prior to v20 don't support column selections in anything but a fixed font file. It's not possible to support this for proportional fonts.

The better solution is to use non-inclusive block selections which are now available in v20. Then you can get the operation you want for any type of file and any font!
Title: Re: 20.0.0.7 (RC1?) MAC expands selection beyond what I'm trying to select
Post by: rajkej on October 26, 2015, 04:12:42 pm
That sounds fine. I'm not imagining myself using that type of selection in a proportional font setting. Thanks!
Title: Re: 20.0.0.7 (RC1?) MAC expands selection beyond what I'm trying to select
Post by: Clark on October 26, 2015, 04:19:55 pm
Just keep in mind that on Mac v20 (not sure about RC 1 though), the default text encoding is UTF8 which is Unicode where all fonts are considered proportional.
Title: Re: 20.0.0.7 (RC1?) MAC expands selection beyond what I'm trying to select
Post by: rajkej on October 29, 2015, 12:46:43 pm
RC3 now shortens the selection by 1 column when I select to the right.

The original issue was when I started on the right and moved left. That was fixed.

Now if I start on the left and move right, after moving the cursor 3 columns, 3 columns are selected. But when I move the cursor down or up after that, then only 2 columns are selected.


Title: Re: 20.0.0.7 (RC1?) MAC expands selection beyond what I'm trying to select
Post by: Clark on October 29, 2015, 12:50:00 pm
Reproduced. Looking into it.
Title: Re: 20.0.0.7 (RC1?) MAC expands selection beyond what I'm trying to select
Post by: Clark on October 29, 2015, 12:53:18 pm
Try loading this cua.e (Macro>Load Module...).
Title: Re: 20.0.0.7 (RC1?) MAC expands selection beyond what I'm trying to select
Post by: rajkej on October 29, 2015, 12:56:50 pm
Better but not yet perfect.

Starting col select works both left/right.

Starting with row select, i.e. do the up/down select first, then doing col select movement (left/right) messes up. I hadn't noticed that before so I don't know if that was happing prior or not.

Title: Re: 20.0.0.7 (RC1?) MAC expands selection beyond what I'm trying to select
Post by: rajkej on October 29, 2015, 12:57:52 pm
Those pictures didn't show the cursor on the first one.
Title: Re: 20.0.0.7 (RC1?) MAC expands selection beyond what I'm trying to select
Post by: Clark on October 29, 2015, 01:07:29 pm
Reproduced.
Title: Re: 20.0.0.7 (RC1?) MAC expands selection beyond what I'm trying to select
Post by: Clark on October 29, 2015, 01:10:05 pm
Looks like this is the same as v19.

What I did was <Shift+Down><Shift+Down><Shift+Left>. You end up with a 2 column selection in v19. Am I following this correctly?
Title: Re: 20.0.0.7 (RC1?) MAC expands selection beyond what I'm trying to select
Post by: rajkej on October 29, 2015, 01:22:36 pm
You are right. With the new cua.e you provided, this matches V19 for all of the tests I could think of. I apparently stumbled across the line selection converting to column (down,down,left) and don't apparently do that on a normal basis (whatever is ingrained into my fingers is working). After testing it out several times, its only the down,down,left that does something different than what I would expect (selects two columns). Down,down,right results in only one column selected. Since I haven't noticed this before, I'm sure I don't normally do the down,down,left movement.

I'd call this working the same as V19 good enough for me. Thanks!
Title: Re: 20.0.0.7 (RC1?) MAC expands selection beyond what I'm trying to select
Post by: Clark on October 29, 2015, 01:24:54 pm
I think I have a better solution.

Please try out this cua.e and tell me if you like it better.
Title: Re: 20.0.0.7 (RC1?) MAC expands selection beyond what I'm trying to select
Post by: Clark on October 29, 2015, 01:27:45 pm
The advantage of this solution is that it uses a non-inclusive block selection which will allow this solution to support proportional fonts even if you've chosen to use inclusive block selections for everything else.
Title: Re: 20.0.0.7 (RC1?) MAC expands selection beyond what I'm trying to select
Post by: rajkej on October 29, 2015, 01:31:05 pm
I like that file! Ship it!
Title: Re: 20.0.0.7 (RC1?) MAC expands selection beyond what I'm trying to select
Post by: Clark on October 30, 2015, 03:02:35 pm
Glad you like it too.,

RC 4 is available for download and includes this change.
Title: Re: 20.0.0.7 (RC1?) MAC expands selection beyond what I'm trying to select
Post by: rajkej on October 30, 2015, 03:13:14 pm
Something broke RC4 versus me testing RC2 with the cua.e file you sent. For both of these examples, I started the same way as before. I used shift+right to select 4 characters then shift+down to get the row.

Is this because of the UTF-8 on MAC change maybe? How can I get my files back to the original text format by default?

Title: Re: 20.0.0.7 (RC1?) MAC expands selection beyond what I'm trying to select
Post by: Clark on October 30, 2015, 03:16:09 pm
Try this cua.e

I fixed something else but it may fix this too.
Title: Re: 20.0.0.7 (RC1?) MAC expands selection beyond what I'm trying to select
Post by: rajkej on October 30, 2015, 03:18:12 pm
That works better! I'll use that for today and see if I notice other issues or not. Thanks!
Title: Re: 20.0.0.7 (RC1?) MAC expands selection beyond what I'm trying to select
Post by: Clark on October 30, 2015, 03:19:24 pm
Thanks for helping with testing of this.