SlickEdit Community

SlickEdit Product Discussion => SlickEdit® => Topic started by: Duhhh on June 10, 2009, 02:22:33 pm

Title: Where do the "commit set" error messages go?
Post by: Duhhh on June 10, 2009, 02:22:33 pm
I was using SVN with SE 13.0.2.0, and I created a commit set. When I went to commit it, I saw a brief flash of text in the "output" window, and then the commit set moved from "current" to "past". When I checked with SVN, it hadn't committed. I tried again - flash of text, then done. So I did the commit using SVN command line and saw that I had a file conflict.

I'm guessing the flash of text is the error message, but since it doesn't stick around, I couldn't verify. Is there someplace where the error messages are stored so I can look at them later? I'd also like to change that feature so that it doesn't move the commit set out of "current" if it had an error. I'll let you know if I find a way to do that.
Title: Re: Where do the "commit set" error messages go?
Post by: chrisant on June 10, 2009, 04:16:19 pm
Can you clarify about "but since it doesn't stick around"?
Title: Re: Where do the "commit set" error messages go?
Post by: Duhhh on June 10, 2009, 10:22:42 pm
I'll pick #2. The output window is visible before I do the commit. When I start the commit, I see a very fast flash of text in the output window, but it disappears before I can even see what's there.

Does SVN run multiple commands? Well, there are multiple things to do in a commit, so I would guess so, but the whole operation is atomic, so once any of them fail, it stops (and un-does anything that was successful). There should be only one error message.

Even when I do a successful commit, I don't see a "success" message, so I don't think the entire commit set function supports any kind of messaging - the flash I see in the output box is probably a fluke.
Title: Re: Where do the "commit set" error messages go?
Post by: chrisant on June 11, 2009, 01:04:22 am
I don't know, but the option setting in the attached PNG screenshot might be relevant.  Check and make sure it is "false".