SlickEdit Community

Archived Read Only Forums => SlickEdit 2016 v21 Beta Discussion => Topic started by: rowbearto on September 14, 2016, 04:12:14 pm

Title: RC1: goto-parent is not working on my code
Post by: rowbearto on September 14, 2016, 04:12:14 pm
I have sent a sample file, test4.cpp, to support.slickedit.com

Go to line 13254 of test4.cpp, and try "goto-parent"

It does not go to the enclosing brace. "goto-parent" does not seem to work in many locations in this file.

Note that going to the start of the function with "context-prev-tag" does work. Not sure if this is relevant though.
Title: Re: RC1: goto-parent is not working on my code
Post by: Dennis on September 14, 2016, 06:22:08 pm
Big file.  "goto-parent" relies on statement tagging which has a limit.  I'm going to put in a hot fix after the release, but for the time being you can work around this problem by adjusting Tools > Options > Editing > Context Tagging > Maximum size of files for statement tagging (KB).  The default is 512K, your file was 550K.
Title: Re: RC1: goto-parent is not working on my code
Post by: rowbearto on September 14, 2016, 06:36:41 pm
Thanks for letting me know.

Can you tell me what "statement tagging" means?
Title: Re: RC1: goto-parent is not working on my code
Post by: rowbearto on September 14, 2016, 06:37:28 pm
What else relies on "statement tagging" that could be impacted by large source files?
Title: Re: RC1: goto-parent is not working on my code
Post by: Dennis on September 14, 2016, 06:42:46 pm
I should have said statement level tagging.  If you go to the Defs tool window, right click, and select "Show Statements", you'll see what I mean, the entire file is outlined down to the statement level.  Several features, including dynamic surround and a bunch of statement navigation commands (of which, goto-parent is one), make use of this feature.
Title: Re: RC1: goto-parent is not working on my code
Post by: rowbearto on September 14, 2016, 06:46:28 pm
Thanks for the explanation. But how would the hotfix help? Are you going to up the default from 512K or change something else?
Title: Re: RC1: goto-parent is not working on my code
Post by: Dennis on September 14, 2016, 06:51:22 pm
The fix will be to override the limit in goto_parent().
Title: Re: RC1: goto-parent is not working on my code
Post by: Dennis on September 15, 2016, 11:53:40 pm
FWIW, this fix will be in rc2.