SlickEdit Community

Archived Read Only Forums => SlickEdit 2018 v23 Beta Discussion => Topic started by: wbullaughey on August 11, 2018, 07:57:53 pm

Title: attaching two tool windows
Post by: wbullaughey on August 11, 2018, 07:57:53 pm
I'm working in two display mode and have moved the "Search Results" window to the secondary display and now want to put the "Build" window as another tab along with the "Search Results". The top, bottom, left and right click boxes appear on the secondary display but a second set appear on the primary monitor with the middle click box. When I try and move the cursor over to get it on the primary display it disappears.

SlickEdit Pro 2018 (v23.0.0.2)
Title: Re: attaching two tool windows
Post by: Clark on August 11, 2018, 11:36:24 pm
Post your program information (Help>About SlickEdit>Copy to Clipboard)
Title: Re: attaching two tool windows
Post by: wbullaughey on August 14, 2018, 11:44:17 pm
SlickEdit Pro 2018 (v23.0.0.2)

Serial number: FE28611_BETA
License type: Beta License
License expiration: 2018-10-09 20:00:00
License file: /Library/Application Support/SlickEdit/23/slickedit.lic

Build Date: July 23, 2018
Emulation: CUA

OS: macOS
OS Version: 10.13.6
Processor Architecture: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6920HQ CPU @ 2.90GHz 64 bit (8 cores)

Memory: 85% Load, 14070MB/16384MB Virtual
Shell Information: /Applications/SlickEditPro2018.app/Contents/MacOS/secsh -i
Screen Size: 1920 x 1080, 1680 x 1050, 1024 x 768

Project Type: Gnuc
Language: .ads (Ada)
Encoding: Automatic

Installation Directory: /Applications/SlickEditPro2018.app/Contents/
Configuration Directory: /Users/wayne/Library/Application Support/SlickEdit/23.0.0/

Title: Re: attaching two tool windows
Post by: Clark on August 15, 2018, 02:29:17 pm
I'm not sure I'm following exactly what you're seeing other than the docking helpers are being displayed in the wrong place.

It is possible for you to dock the Build tool window with the Search Results tool window?

I set up a dual monitor scenario on macOS but haven't recreated this problem.

Clark
Title: Re: attaching two tool windows
Post by: wbullaughey on August 15, 2018, 02:39:52 pm
Docking the Build to the Search Results does not work either. This is with the windows to be docked on the secondary monitory. When I switch so the main SlickEdit window is on the secondary and the windows to be docked are on the primary window it works.
Title: Re: attaching two tool windows
Post by: Clark on August 15, 2018, 03:44:19 pm
SlickEdit thinks you have three monitors (1920x1080, 1680x1050, 1024x768). Do you have three monitors in these resolutions? These resolutions look pretty low.
Title: Re: attaching two tool windows
Post by: wbullaughey on August 15, 2018, 03:57:19 pm
Sorry, I was trying a third monitor when I sent the SE clipboard info from About.

My tests today are running on a MacBook Pro with resolution 2880 x 1800
The external display is Dell 1600 x 1200
I currently have the Dell set to be the primary

SlickEdit Pro 2018 (v23.0.0.2)

Serial number: FE28611_BETA
License type: Beta License
License expiration: 2018-10-09 20:00:00
License file: /Library/Application Support/SlickEdit/23/slickedit.lic

Build Date: July 23, 2018
Emulation: CUA

OS: macOS
OS Version: 10.13.6
Processor Architecture: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6920HQ CPU @ 2.90GHz 64 bit (8 cores)

Memory: 84% Load, 13805MB/16384MB Virtual
Shell Information: /Applications/SlickEditPro2018.app/Contents/MacOS/secsh -i
Screen Size: 1600 x 1200, 1680 x 1050

Project Type: (Other)
Language: .adb (Ada)
Encoding: Automatic

Installation Directory: /Applications/SlickEditPro2018.app/Contents/
Configuration Directory: /Users/wayne/Library/Application Support/SlickEdit/23.0.0/
Spill File: /tmp/$slk.wayne.1045
Title: Re: attaching two tool windows
Post by: Clark on August 15, 2018, 04:18:28 pm
Slickedit is seeing two monitors. One at 1600x1200 and the other at 1680x1050. Are these the resolutions you are using?

I tried changing the order of my monitors but things still work for me. Although, I don't have a MacBook Pro to test on.

Does it help to make the MacBook Pro monitor the primary monitor? I'm just trying to figure out what magic is necessary to make this happen.
Title: Re: attaching two tool windows
Post by: wbullaughey on August 15, 2018, 05:04:09 pm
The MacBook Pro is 2880 x 1800. No idea where the 1680x1050 comes from unless the Mac downsizes to be close to the external monitor.
It works when the primary is the external and fails when the primary is the MacBook.
Title: Re: attaching two tool windows
Post by: wbullaughey on August 16, 2018, 05:07:41 pm
This works correctly for me with Windows 7
Title: Re: attaching two tool windows
Post by: Clark on August 16, 2018, 05:21:21 pm
When the primary monitor is the external monitor, does SlickEdit get the right resolution for the MacBook screen? If not, does dragging tool windows work both ways (primary to external, external to primary)?
Title: Re: attaching two tool windows
Post by: wbullaughey on August 17, 2018, 11:02:55 am
The OS X About this MAC reports the display sizes as: 1366x768,3840x2160,2880x1800
The last one is the MAC its self.
A browser based tool (www.infobyip.com/detectscreenresolution.php) says: 1366x786,3840x2160,3360x2100

The OS X and browser tool report in the same order. The SlickEdit looks like it shows in reverse order but also wrong for all but the lowest resolution display.

Dragging on the primary display works, dragging on either non-primary display does not work. In either case on the non-primary display the cross shaped symbol with the box in the middle that lets you put multiple tool windows in the same window shows up on the primary display. If you move the mouse to get to it, it disappears.

SlickEdit Pro 2018 (v23.0.0.2)

Serial number: FE28611_BETA
License type: Beta License
License expiration: 2018-10-09 20:00:00
License file: /Library/Application Support/SlickEdit/23/slickedit.lic

Build Date: July 23, 2018
Emulation: CUA

OS: macOS
OS Version: 10.13.6
Processor Architecture: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6920HQ CPU @ 2.90GHz 64 bit (8 cores)

Memory: 84% Load, 13890MB/16384MB Virtual
Shell Information: /Applications/SlickEditPro2018.app/Contents/MacOS/secsh -i
Screen Size: 1920 x 1080, 1680 x 1050, 1366 x 768

Project Type: Gnuc
Language: .adb (Ada)
Encoding: Automatic

Installation Directory: /Applications/SlickEditPro2018.app/Contents/
Configuration Directory: /Users/wayne/Library/Application Support/SlickEdit/23.0.0/

Title: Re: attaching two tool windows
Post by: Clark on August 17, 2018, 05:34:32 pm
Just making sure I understand exactly what you're seeing.

It doesn't matter which monitor is primary. You can't drag from the primary monitor to the secondary monitor because the visual helpers are drawn in the wrong location.

Dragging to the primary monitor always works and the visual helpers are drawn in the correct location.



Title: Re: attaching two tool windows
Post by: wbullaughey on August 18, 2018, 10:42:16 pm
Sounds like you understand.
I figured out a work around. Do all of the docking on the primary display and then drag the combined docked window to the secondary display.
Title: Re: attaching two tool windows
Post by: Clark on August 18, 2018, 10:54:11 pm
do you really have a low res 1366x768 monitor? If you do, try making that the primary monitor and see if you can dock a tool window on the secondary display (not third). I’m really curious if that works.
Title: Re: attaching two tool windows
Post by: wbullaughey on August 20, 2018, 02:00:15 am
My smallest monitor resolution is 1366x768. I'm not trying to dock a tool window onto a normal editor window. I'm trying to combine several tool windows together with a tab for each. This only seems to work when they are on the primary monitor.  The cross shaped icon (cross shaped with 5 yellow boxes with the one in the middle being the one I want to pick) that needs to be selected always shows up on the primary monitor so if I'm trying to put the tool windows together on a secondary window I can't move the mouse to the icon. When I move the mouse off the secondary monitor the icon disappears.
Title: Re: attaching two tool windows
Post by: Clark on August 20, 2018, 01:15:47 pm
Have you tried making the low resolution monitor the primary monitor (just as a test) and dragging tool windows to the secondary monitor (one of your high dpi monitors)?  I'm wondering if macOS is doing something different with your hi dpi monitors. There's also a possibility you're using some macOS setting I'm not aware of but I still think it could have something to do with having a high dpi monitor as your primary monitor.

The fact that SlickEdit doesn't get the resolution right for some of your monitors is highly suspicious. I think this is the reason why you can only dock on the primary monitor. The test above should prove me right or wrong.
Title: Re: attaching two tool windows
Post by: wbullaughey on August 21, 2018, 09:57:53 am
Making the smallest monitor does not make it work. The only it works if the target window is on the primary monitor.
Title: Re: attaching two tool windows
Post by: Clark on August 22, 2018, 01:26:10 am
Thanks

I'm still guessing it is related to having a higher DPI monitor (not just a 4k 40 inch monitor which we mostly have).

Do you have any additional low resolution monitors (low DPI is more important)? If so, try making the first low dpi monitor the primary monitor on the far left (leftmost in arrangement). Then make the second low dpi monitor to the right in arrangement to the low dpi primary monitor. The arrangement is very important. If you can dock to the second low dpi monitor, that absolute means the problem is the high DPI monitors you have. That also means that we should be able to reproduce this with a high dpi monitor.
Title: Re: attaching two tool windows
Post by: wbullaughey on August 22, 2018, 08:39:32 pm
I don't have the correct interface dongles to connect another low resolution monitor.
I don't think it really has anything to do with my high resolution monitor. When I first reported the problem I wasn't using it. I just had the Laptop plus the low resolution monitor. In that case it only worked when the docking was done on the primary monitor independent of whether the primary monitor was the laptop or the low resolution monitor. It also does not mater if its left or right.
Do you have the capability to do screen sharing so I can demonstrate it live for you?
Title: Re: attaching two tool windows
Post by: Clark on August 22, 2018, 09:57:56 pm
Don't need to screen share for this situation. We definitely understand what you're seeing.

The fact that SlickEdit isn't getting the resolutions right, is very suspicious.

Another thing I didn't mention is what Qt has to do with the Y coordinate. In order for the Y coordinate to work the same on all platforms, Qt has to make 0,0 be at the top-left and not bottom-left (which would be what the mac does). If Qt sees the wrong display height, bad things are going to happen. This is why without two monitors where Qt recognizes the screen resolutions, there's no way to perfectly test this.

We will keep doing some testing here. The end goal is for us to be able to reproduce this here.  Even if this is a Qt bug, I suspect we can fix this one.