SlickEdit Community

Archived Read Only Forums => SlickEdit 2018 v23 Beta Discussion => Topic started by: namklak on September 25, 2018, 09:14:50 pm

Title: C selecting struct member from prompt replaces struct name
Post by: namklak on September 25, 2018, 09:14:50 pm
Hi,
I have a tagged project.  In a C fn when I type the name of a declared struct and type ".", SE correctly lists the members of that struct.  When I select a member, the selected member name replaces the struct name.  This error does not happen in 2017 V22.
Title: Re: C selecting struct member from prompt replaces struct name
Post by: Dennis on September 26, 2018, 01:30:57 am
Was not able to reproduce this easily.  Could you post a small sample?
Title: Re: C selecting struct member from prompt replaces struct name
Post by: namklak on September 26, 2018, 07:34:18 pm
typedef struct
{
    uint8_t *buff;
    uint8_t len;
}Test_Frame_Buffer_Type;

main()
{
    Test_Frame_Buffer_Type test_fbt;

    test_fbt

}

so type a . after test_fbt and the member list pops up. Select a member and test_fbt becomes the member selected.

Thanks
-Namklak

SlickEdit Pro 2018 (v23.0.0.5 64-bit)

Serial number: xxxxxx_BETA
License type: Beta License
License expiration: 2018-10-09 18:00:00
License file: C:\ProgramData\slickedit\23\slickedit.lic

Build Date: September 06, 2018
Emulation: CUA

OS: Windows 10 x64
OS Version: 10.00.0 
Memory: 34% Load, 11206MB/32617MB Physical, 11847MB/32617MB Page File, 784MB/134217727MB Virtual
Shell Information: C:\Windows\system32\cmd.exe /q
Screen Size: 2560 x 1390

Project Type: Cpp
Language: .c (C/C++)
Encoding: Automatic

Installation Directory: C:\Program Files\SlickEdit Pro 23.0.0 Beta4\ (non-removable drive,NTFS,124734MB free)
Configuration Directory: C:\Users\xxxxxxx\Documents\My SlickEdit Config\23.0.0\ (non-removable drive,NTFS,124734MB free)
Migrated from: C:\Users\xxxxxxx\Documents\My SlickEdit Config\22.0.2\

Title: Re: C selecting struct member from prompt replaces struct name
Post by: Dennis on September 26, 2018, 07:38:44 pm
Still not seeing what you are getting.  Are you able to reproduce this in a default configuration?

vs +new -sc C:\Temp\TestStructConfig

Title: Re: C selecting struct member from prompt replaces struct name
Post by: namklak on September 26, 2018, 11:04:50 pm
Good question - so modifying your command a little to run the correct version of vs...

"C:\Program Files\SlickEdit Pro 23.0.0 Beta4\win\vs.exe" +new -sc c:\temp\teststructconfig

The test code I pasted above does cause the expected response from vs - the selected struct member is inserted after the struct and looks correct: test_fbt.buff

So the plot sickens...

If I go back to my project, which is tagging much of the Nordic nrf5 sdk, FreeRTOS, and just a handful of my files, VS V23 beta still fails the test, and VS V22 works.  And my code builds with gcc with no warnings...

Huh...
Title: Re: C selecting struct member from prompt replaces struct name
Post by: at5dapa1 on September 27, 2018, 05:52:07 am
I also cannot repeat this issue (tried with v23.0.0.5 64-bit in Win6x64).
Can you post your auto-complete options when you load SE with the profile where it happens?
Title: Re: C selecting struct member from prompt replaces struct name
Post by: namklak on September 27, 2018, 02:01:56 pm
Attached is my auto-complete settings.  I couldn't figure out how to insert the pic into the body of this msg....

The test of VS23 that passed (meaning vs worked correctly) was just opening a file but not adding it to a project.  If I create a new project with just 1 .c file and that code fragment, vs still misbehaves.  So something with projects???