SlickEdit Community

SlickEdit Product Discussion => SlickEdit® => Topic started by: MyPetSlug on August 10, 2009, 09:22:59 pm

Title: Problems remote building with plink
Post by: MyPetSlug on August 10, 2009, 09:22:59 pm
Hi All,
I've used the search, but I haven't found an answer to this question.  I'm using slickedit 14.0.2.2 on Windows XP to edit linux files mounted on a network drive.  So, I read a bunch of stuff about using plink to be able to ssh into a remote machine to build.  And plink works fine when I do it from a DOS window and PuTTY itself works fine as well.  However, when I use plink through the slickedit build window (to test to make sure remote building will work in concept), the commands I enter seem to be garbled and I get a double CLI prompt as well.  Example:

]0;jason_raff@m21:~[m21]/home/jason_raff> pwd
pw(reverse-i-search)`': pwd': pw d
[m21]/home/jason_raff> pw
-bash: pw: command not found
]0;jason_raff@m21:~[m21]/home/jason_raff>

Anyone have any idea how to fix this?

Thanks,
Jason
Title: Re: Problems remote building with plink
Post by: hs2 on August 10, 2009, 09:51:24 pm
You should avoid the fancy ESCape sequences emitted by your remote shell.
Looks like the bash prompt (PS1 var) is colorized.
See also this (http://community.slickedit.com/index.php?topic=795.msg5121#msg5121) and maybe this (http://community.slickedit.com/index.php?topic=581.msg4763#msg4763) posting for further details.
Good luck, HS2
Title: Re: Problems remote building with plink
Post by: MyPetSlug on August 11, 2009, 02:18:07 pm
Hi HS2,
So, I tried playing with my bash prompt in the remote shell, setting it to just '>' makes it look somewhat better in the build window, but it doesn't fix my garbled input:

]0;jason_raff@m21:~>
]0;jason_raff@m21:~>pwd
pw?d
-bash: pw?d: command not found

I tried setting setting LANG in my remote shell to en_US.  This had no effect either.  I also tried explicitly setting the COMSPEC in vslick.ini to be cmd.exe, but that didn't have any effect either.  Again, this works fine from a normal windows command prompt.
Title: Re: Problems remote building with plink
Post by: hs2 on August 11, 2009, 05:27:46 pm
Hmm .. strange. Maybe I'm wrong, but your prompt still displays more information than just a '>'.
Did you double check your environment/bash setup ? Just issue e.g. an 'env' command via plink to verify $PS1 and maybe $LANG. If this is fine the only thing I can think of are the PuTTY settings (terminal).
Sorry - no better idea :(
HS2

Title: Re: Problems remote building with plink
Post by: hp on August 12, 2009, 12:41:10 pm
I have actually the same problem when using my cygwin environment in the buildwindow.

Buildwindow:
]0;~
HOLDENPE@CRDW1720 ~
$


Real cygwin output:
HOLDENPE@CRDW1720 ~
$
Title: Re: Problems remote building with plink
Post by: MyPetSlug on August 12, 2009, 01:14:27 pm
Hi HS2,
You're right, it's a bit weird, but I just figured that the prompt was standard for plink or something.  Like it went <plink prompt><PS1>. 

So, playing around some more, I still haven't fixed the plink problem, however, I notice that if I enter a command as a plink argument, it actually goes though.  So, I did do that to see what LANG and PS1 were set to, and they were both set correctly.

The problem now is, some of my aliases don't work.  If I use the alias command through plink, I see it has all the correct aliases configured.  However, when I use my alias to cd to the correct source dir, it says bash: <alias I'm using>: command not found.  It seems like others work fine, though I haven't tried them all yet.

Any idea about this?

Thanks,
Jason
Title: Re: Problems remote building with plink
Post by: hs2 on August 12, 2009, 06:09:06 pm
@hp: Have a look at this (http://community.slickedit.com/index.php?topic=1598.msg6723#msg6723) thread related to cygwin bash. It's worth reading all posts. Hope it helps...
@MyPetSlug: For some further plink details this (http://community.slickedit.com/index.php?topic=3471.msg14274#msg14274) thread might help in addition.
Good luck, HS2