Author Topic: How to make bash default shell  (Read 8909 times)

mtraudt

  • Junior Community Member
  • Posts: 3
  • Hero Points: 0
How to make bash default shell
« on: December 29, 2006, 11:27:27 pm »
I am using SE 11.0.2 with openSUSE 10.2.  I have ksh and tcsh installed and SlickEdit will always prefer these as my process shell, even though $SHELL=/bin/bash.  I strongly prefer bash as my shell and wonder if there is a way to configure from within SlickEdit.  Currently I am renaming /bin/tcsh and /bin/ksh and this works but is not really desirable.

Graeme

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2136
  • Hero Points: 263
Re: How to make bash default shell
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2006, 11:44:52 pm »
Search on the forum for...  bash shell

Probably this will help
http://community.slickedit.com/index.php?topic=295.0

Graeme

mtraudt

  • Junior Community Member
  • Posts: 3
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: How to make bash default shell
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2007, 06:06:50 pm »
Search on the forum for...  bash shell

Probably this will help
http://community.slickedit.com/index.php?topic=295.0

Graeme


I tried this suggestion (setting def_process_shell macro) but it has no impact, which is not surprising since the default value was "/bin/sh -i" while by default I will get a tcsh.  It seems that SE has some other way of deciding which shell to use.

hs2

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2737
  • Hero Points: 285
Re: How to make bash default shell
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2007, 06:30:55 pm »
Did you set the def_linux1_shell var (since you're using SUSE Linux) ?

HS2

Wanderer

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 558
  • Hero Points: 23
Re: How to make bash default shell
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2007, 08:23:33 pm »
Is there any way to set the shell that SlickEdit uses on Windows (without changing the COMSPEC env var, or launching SlickEdit from batch file that changes COMSPEC)?

hs2

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2737
  • Hero Points: 285
Re: How to make bash default shell
« Reply #5 on: January 04, 2007, 03:38:01 pm »
Yes - setup your <config - dir>/vslick.ini accordingly.

snippet of my vslick.ini
Quote
; force comspec to cmd.exe
COMSPEC=%SYSTEMROOT%\system32\cmd.exe

HS2

jchick

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 6
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: How to make bash default shell
« Reply #6 on: February 28, 2007, 01:34:12 pm »
Hi,

I too am trying to change the default shell in the build window with no success. I've tried changing vslick.ini as suggested and I can see the change to the environment variable inside the shell, but it's still the default cmd.exe shell.

Recently I've installed MinGW to start a cross platform project. All my scripts use configure, perl and make which run fine in an external shell. But I would like to run the shell in SE to avoid switching tasks. I know I can use macros, change the menus, change the build commands, I use all those, but I am used to typing in all my stuff in the build shell window in SE and would really like to continue doing so.

I'm using:
Windows XP sp2
SEv11.0.2

Offtopic:
I think its awesome that you guys have gotten around to having your own forums. I've been using SE since version 3 something....way back. Its great to have a place to chat about SE issues. Now I'll have to go repost all my old posts off lazyhacker.com


natros

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 59
  • Hero Points: 1
Re: How to make bash default shell
« Reply #7 on: February 28, 2007, 01:58:50 pm »
One thing that is very annoying to me is the escape sequences. Look at my prompt, it's awful

Code: [Select]
(neptuno:scp/scpd/daemon) fsousa%

How can I fix this?

Lee

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1175
  • Hero Points: 112
Re: How to make bash default shell
« Reply #8 on: February 28, 2007, 02:24:41 pm »
The escape sequences not being displayed correctly in the process/build window is a known issue,  to address that see:
http://community.slickedit.com/index.php?topic=69.0
http://community.slickedit.com/index.php?topic=581.0