Author Topic: Can't find g++ on Windows Vista with CygWin  (Read 8317 times)

DustyB

• Junior Community Member
  • Hero Points: 0
Can't find g++ on Windows Vista with CygWin
« on: January 02, 2009, 05:44:51 AM »
Hello, I searched the forum posts and could not find this particular issue.  I am new to SE and Cygwin coming from a unix development background (xemacs, vi, gcc, make, grep, sed, awk...)  I am running a trial version of SE 2008 right on Windows Vista and have installed Cygwin so I could use gcc as Visual Studio Express 2008 doesn't have some of the basic K&R style C-isms that I am used to (in particular there is no main() method  ??? .)  SE seems to have recognized Cygwin was installed and tagged the header files correctly.

I have created a project using the GNU C/C++ Wizard as a C++ executable and build without a makefile.  However, when I try to build SE tells me it can't find g++.  When I look for g++ from within the cygwin shell it is under /usr/local/bin.

According to other posts on the forum SE uses CMD.EXE and in that shell (as well as windows explorer) c:\cygwin\usr\local\bin has no files under it.  The Cygwin documentation doesn't seem to indicate that there is anything special configuration that I need to do.  I do find a g++ (and gcc) in c:\cygwin\bin but pointing SE to use those generates some kind of abnormal termination which Vista then tries to find a solution for.  Currently I am building from the cygwin shell using make, however, if I purchase SE I would like to use the SE build/debug tools.  Any ideas?  Is my cygwin install not configured correctly for use with SE?

hs2

• Senior Community Member
  • Hero Points: 292
Re: Can't find g++ on Windows Vista with CygWin
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2009, 10:53:08 AM »
Did you also select the right compiler in 'Project>Properties: Compile/Link tab' ?